This Halloween, I dressed up as Bella Swan from the popular book series that is the literary pinnacle of teen angst and self-destructive obsession: Twilight. The problem? I’m 29 years old. But, like, whatever, okay? I like, totally looked like Bella/Kristen Stewart/someone more than a decade younger than me. Like, for serious. And my husband, Joey, was a smokin’ Edward, complete with ruby lips, pallid complexion, mussed hair, and, oh yes, glittery skin. You Edward fans know what I’m talkin’ bout. Mmm hmm. That’s right. Check it:

Edward & Bella

Don't we look intense?

Yes, I admit it. I’m a Twilight fan. I can’t help it. The plot lines are addicting, the characters are mesmerizing, and Stephenie Meyer’s writing, although not uber-intellectual, keeps the reader hooked from beginning to end. The movie version of Twilight, in a word, sucked, but it allowed me the opportunity to watch a 14-year-old or so girl sitting two rows in front of me in the movie theater scream like the banshee every time Edward came on the screen (confession: I did the same when Edward’s “father,” Carlisle Cullen, made his premier in the first hospital scene), as well as rock back and forth in her seat for the entire movie. It was funny. And disturbing.

And to prove that my friends are also book nerds, here is a photo of Angie as Hermione from Harry Potter.

Angie as Hermione

Yes, that it is Quidditch manual in her hand. Yeah, we’re lit geeks. Ya jealous?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to hunt down movie clips from the soon-to-be-released New Moon, which is guaranteed to be about five kajillion times better than Twilight. Three words: Jacob is ripped. Too bad Taylor Lautner, the actor who plays Jacob Black, was born in 1992, right around the time when I was lusting after Zack Morris. Ah well, that’s the beauty of fantasy books, isn’t it?

I’ll leave you with yet another sweet picture of Joey & me acting out the cheesiest quote of the entire Twilight series: “And so the lion fell in love with the lamb.”

Lion & Lamb

“Stupid lamb.” ~ Bella Swan

